Making/Creating. Doctor Brills in the home.

This morning I am making oatmeal. I am waiting for my tea to steep and I am making a drawing.

This morning I am creating oatmeal. I am waiting for my tea to steep and I am creating a drawing.

When Garrett, Kristina and I began planning for Doctor Brills Left None of his Children Behind, we started with a simple idea: 3 Artists working in 3 mediums, each artist working outside of their conventional medium.

I chose drawing as my medium for this show mainly because these days my home has become a place where I make my work. My bedroom doubles as a holding place for drawings both in process and finished, stored under the bed, between the box-spring and mattress. Large pieces of paper are easier to store than plaster molds, the process of drawing is generally quieter, more immediate, and less expensive than sculpting and in these ways it lends itself to my current studio/home existence.

As I make my work in my home, I consider the other things I make, and I begin to feel that all my making is creating, that my existing is part of my art. This morning as I make my oatmeal I ask myself where is the difference between the process of making in my oatmeal and creating in my art? Are these processes really so separate, especially when done in the same space?

One offers me directions:
For one serving of Quaker Oats: ½ c. oats, 1 c. water, dash of salt.
The directions are not followed
I intuitively place water in a pan, wait to boil, add oatmeal, stir when I think I should, eat when it looks ready. I intuitively mark the paper on my dining room table, cut paper, glue pieces, end when it looks ready.

One response to “Making/Creating. Doctor Brills in the home.

  1. Dr. B(r)ills

    My crossover, one of them anyway, is between teaching and art. I have wondered how teaching can be incorporated into art. I think now maybe it can’t, quite. But that also may be the prefect place for them (teaching and art) or me, suspended in between them, unable to make them touch. The risk (of “success”) would be that one could be pulled into the other in a way that would be dysfunctional, that it would end up being bad teaching or bad art.

    Maybe sprawl is the answer. Sprawl over the territory. Cover a lot of possibilities. In this way both disciplines get covered, from the conventional to the unorthodox. They then move towards each other in a way that can be very informative.

Leave a Reply

