Serra’s Drawings

“I like to draw. It is an activity I rely on, a dependency of sorts.
Drawing gives me an immediate return for my effort and the result is
commensurate with my involvement. It is an activity that requires
solitude, it is the most concentrated space in which I work.”
+Richard Serra

I’ve recently been so intrigued by the work of Richard Serra,
particularly his drawings, because they feel so successful as both
drawings and sculptural objects. His dense mark-making with oil
paintsticks result in large-scale drawings that function in a similar
manner as his steel sculptures; emphasizing relations between mass and
volume, form gravity, balance and weight. Forged steel and densely
layered oil paints serve as devices for making marks in space.

Leave a Reply

